Shazam! New Modern Pattern

Do you love a challenge? I do. Being an Island Batik Ambassador, I receive a monthly challenge. May’s challenge is to design a Modern Quilt using the fabrics from our January box delivery.

What comes to mind when you hear the word “modern?”

I think of bold contrast.  I also think of simplicity. This block is easy to make and just like my 50/50 Mix pattern, half the blocks mirror the other half. I had so much fun stitching this one up!

This new quilt pattern is called “Shazam”.  That’s a powerful word for a very bold statement. I think that the fabric selected for this pattern can dictate the quilting. My first dream was of a navy blue and snowflake white fabric.  I dreamed of quilting a horse running through the snow. I will make that quilt some day soon. It will be called “Blizzard.”   Since those fabrics were not in my box, I selected the blue-green chicken eggs fabric and egg white neutral Island Batik fabric.  Then my brain quickly saw chickens dancing.  Hence, this new quilt is called “Chicken Dance.”

IMG_20170509_171739

I quilted 5 dancing chickens with Fantastico #5144 thread and then stitched straight lines with Fantastico #5090 thread. I had Aurifil thread in the bobbin.

Let me know what you think. Leave a comment and I will put your name in a basket to win some Island Batik fabric from their new line (It’s got chickens, eggs, and silverware!) I will pick the winner on May 31st.

You could even create this quilt with solid fabrics and then apply an applique or three. See how my brain continues to push further and further outside the box? I hope to have the pattern available next month for sale. Stay tuned!

 

Be sure to visit all the Island Batik Ambassadors and see what they’ve got going for
♥Modern Batik Challenge♥

Nan from Purrfect Spots Designs
Turid from Den Syende Himmel
Stephanie from Quilt’n Party
Pamela from Pamela Quilts
Anna from Ark Angel Creations
Kathy from Kathy’s Kwilts and More
Jessica from Desert Bloom Quilting
Connie from Freemotion by the River
Kate from Seams Like a Dream
Sharon from Yellow Cat Quilt Designs
Tina from Quilting Affection Designs
Jennifer from The Inquiring Quilter
Barb from Bejeweled Quilts
Sally from Sally’s Quilting Corner
Jeanette from Inch Worm Fabrics
Connie from Kauffman Designs
Joan from Moosestash Quilting
Bernadine from Needle and Foot
Bea from Beaquilter
Cheryl from Cheryl Lynch Quilts
Maryellen from Mary Mack’s Blog
Joyce from Hearts Creations
Marlene from Kissed Quilts
Karen from The Quilt Rambler
Marian from Seams to be Sew
Laura from Slice of Pi Quilts
Linda from Inspired Layers
Vicki from Vicki’s Crafts and Quilting
Nancy from Masterpiece Quilting
Carol from FunThreads Designs
Terri from Meanderings Along Lizard Creek
Alison from Little Bunny Quilts
Suzy from Adventurous Applique and Quilting
Jean-Sophie from Sophie Junction
Janet from Whispers of Yore

Happy quilting!

Linda

About inspiredlayerslinda

I was an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoyed the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collections. I teach free motion quilting via my Youtube videos and Doodle of the Month program which anyone can sign up for by sending me an email requesting to be added to the list. I enjoy transforming fabric into unique quilts, t-shirts into memory quilts, and photos to wall art. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in batik confections, finished project, free motion quilting, Island Batik, modern quilt, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Shazam! New Modern Pattern

  1. Bonny Peters says:

    Linda – Shazam came out awesome! Quilting dancing chickens was a terrific idea.

  2. Susan Weeks says:

    Great blog! I realyy liked our class Saturday.

  3. Lisa Huckins says:

    I like the illusion of movement caused by the secondary squares on point illusion.

  4. Pat Wright says:

    I like the way the chickens appear to be popping out from behind a fence. also, really enjoyed the class on Sat.

  5. Jean says:

    I liked the idea of dancing chickens. We have chickens and the way they run around sometimes looks like dancing. Shazam has very interesting movement.

  6. Beverley says:

    My eyes see a different line every time I blink!

  7. Nancy Barr says:

    Your imagination is delightful love the thought of dancing chickens,

  8. Val says:

    Definitely has movement. Really cool!

  9. Janine says:

    Love the quilef chickens!

Leave a comment