Quilt As You Go Challenge

After opening my new box of goodies from Island Batik, I dreamed up a new quilt for this challenge. I just couldn’t wait to use the Leah Day designed medallions.  I cut a large square, about 20 inches for the backing, 2 battings, cotton and wool, and centered each medallion and secured with pins in the corners. I chose some purple Bottom Line (shiny) thread and a size 12 needle to free motion quilt around the designs.  I just love the double bat combo! It quilts like a dream and makes the design pop!

IMG_20170809_135322775

Since this is a Quilt as you go challenge, I added 2 1/2″ strips from the Restful Raindrops collection.  I added the strips in the courthouse steps order as opposed to the log cabin. This is by adding a strip to both sides using a 1/4″ seam allowance and then pressing the strips open.

IMG_20170809_140457983 Then adding to the top and bottom and pressing them open. After 3 strips added in each direction, I trimmed the block down to 19″. In order to stitch the blocks together, I cut one strip of batik 1 1/4″ and the backing fabric 1 3/4″ wide and pressed in half lengthwise. I stitched the batik to the top, right sides together and the folded strip to the back.  Then sew the batik to the next block. This is what it looks like.

IMG_20170810_102020495

Now to hand sew the back side along the fold.

IMG_20170810_180918178The back looks as neat as the front when you are done.

I cut triangles for the corner pieces and stitched strips through all the layers (flip and sew). Then I attached the corners so the Lea Day medallions are set on point.

This is not the quilt I thought I was going to create, but I like the colors and LOVE the medallion print!

IMG_20170813_171944255IMG_20170813_171903704

Check out the other Island Batik Ambassador blogs to see what they are stitching for QAYG Challenge!

Nan from Purrfect Spots Designs
Turid from Den Syende Himmel
Stephanie from Quilt’n Party
Pamela from Pamela Quilts
Anna from Ark Angel Creations
Kathy from Kathy’s Kwilts and More
Jessica from Desert Bloom Quilting
Connie from Freemotion by the River
Kate from Seams Like a Dream
Sharon from Yellow Cat Quilt Designs
Tina from Quilting Affection Designs
Jennifer from The Inquiring Quilter
Barb from Bejeweled Quilts
Sally from Sally’s Quilting Corner
Jeanette from Inch Worm Fabrics
Connie from Kauffman Designs
Joan from Moosestash Quilting
Bernadine from Needle and Foot
Bea from Beaquilter
Cheryl from Cheryl Lynch Quilts
Maryellen from Mary Mack’s Blog
Joyce from Hearts Creations
Marlene from Kissed Quilts
Karen from The Quilt Rambler
Marian from Seams to be Sew
Laura from Slice of Pi Quilts
Linda from Inspired Layers
Vicki from Vicki’s Crafts and Quilting
Nancy from Masterpiece Quilting
Carol from FunThreads Designs
Terri from Meanderings Along Lizard Creek
Alison from Little Bunny Quilts
Suzy from Adventurous Applique and Quilting
Jean-Sophie from Sophie Junction
Janet from Whispers of Yore

Happy Quilting!

Linda

Inspired Layers

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in Island Batik, quilt as you go, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quilt As You Go Challenge

  1. Maryellen McAuliffe says:

    LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

