Island Batik Box 2 Reveal!

This is truly a “Christmas in August” for me. I must admit that I was just as excited to open this package as I was every Christmas to find the one special present under the tree for me.  It was unique.  My brothers and sister didn’t receive a similar package.  It was as unique as I am. Thanks Mom, for starting my stitching career off with so much excitement!

If you watch my video link on the true reveal of Island Batik Box #2, you will find out why I was so excited.

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FInspiredLayers%2Fvideos%2F1411771265581927%2F&show_text=0&width=225

I did run to the washing machine and dryer with my rayon fabric.  Luckily I read about rayon and how to treat it. I learned a lot.  I didn’t know rayon shrunk so much! I used a color catcher. I drafter two patterns that very same day…..Then I went to JoAnn’s (my least favorite store) for some material to test my new pattern.  By the end of the day, mission accomplished.

I’m waiting to used my rayon fabric for the pattern….or the other pattern….You see I cannot decide which one to make. I’ll probably run to New England Fabrics in Keene, NH where they sell Island Batik rayon fabric and make both designs….One from the fabric from my box and one from some other luscious Island Batik rayon. Stay tuned…

What was in my box?….besides rayon? lots of new fabrics that will be in your quilt shops in December/January.

What happened to my plans for my Quilt As You Go project for August? They changed.  I couldn’t sleep after seeing Lea Day’s fabric.  There were four medallions…They are in my Quilt As You Go project.  I’m writing that blog next….stay tuned!

img_20170808_162502604.jpg

Do you see the rayon?  It’s the 2.5 yards of navy blue with a wavy design on it.  Lea Day’s fabric is the purple fabric.

I’m really excited to be writing a new talk to give next year, “Stranded on Island Batik.” If your guild  would like some challenge ideas or a night of funny stories and lots of hints on how to approach a challenge, give me a call.  Book a fun night with my Island Batik trunk show! Call 508-769-7881 today!

Did you buy yourself some special fabric in July or August as a present to yourself? I’d love to see how you reacted to that purchase. Make something, tell a story and post it!

Happy Quilting,

Linda Ramrath

Inspired Layers

Inspiredlayers.com

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in guild talks, Island Batik, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

