Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

Oh Baby! July 24, 2017

How exciting for me to have July challenge from Island Batik, a baby challenge.  My niece, Maria gave birth to her first child, JJ on 7/22/2017! I had already made a quilt for JJ and sent it along to the baby shower earlier this summer.  I was so inspired to make another in anticipation of his birth! Everyone is doing well and I am relieved that I finished this blog post before turning the calendar page to August!

Here is my baby quilt, inspired and created by a layer cake, “Spoolin’ Around” and the background fabric is a Batik cotton Blender BE22-C1.

img_20170724_164538.jpg

I started with a simple 9-patch block idea…

Then I decided to put half square triangle sections in the four corners…

I wanted a 4 1/2″ square in the middle…

Then I remembered a block I had seen on Pinterest…off I went to search for the block…knowing that I liked the way it looked folded over in the corners…

Voila, my block with very simple units:

img_20170714_201618721.jpg

The cutting directions are very simple:

Center fabric: 4 1/2″ square and 8, 2 1/2″ squares

Light fabric: 4, 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangles

Dark fabric: 2, 4 7/8″ squares cut diagonally

Background fabric: 2, 4 7/8″ squares cut diagonally and 4, 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangles.

I did cut some lattice strips so that each block was floating.

IMG_20170714_155840

Make the half square triangles from the two large squares.

IMG_20170714_200623957My favorite way to make flying geese sections is by using my Sew Easy Guide!

I stitch one square onto the rectangle background piece from corner to corner. No pins!….Trim and press to corner.

IMG_20170714_200956616

IMG_20170714_200721086

 

 

 

 

 

Next, Stitch other squares to the other side, corner to corner.

IMG_20170714_201026496

Trim a quarter of an inch away from the stitching line and press.

IMG_20170714_201235390

Stitch each row together and then stitch the three rows together to make the block. I nested the seam allowances to make a nice smooth block for quilting.

My quilting design included stitch in the ditch, some curves in the flying geese triangle sections and a feather in the center sections.  Then I used a stencil to make curvy lines in the background.  I washed the mark’n trace off with cold water.

Then I bound the quilt with scraps which I pieced together on the diagonal.

This was such a fun project! I finished it the day JJ was born!

Here are the links to all the other Island Batik Ambassador’s blogs to see what Oh Baby! treasures they made with Island Batik fabrics.

Nan from Purrfect Spots Designs
Turid from Den Syende Himmel
Stephanie from Quilt’n Party
Pamela from Pamela Quilts
Anna from Ark Angel Creations
Kathy from Kathy’s Kwilts and More
Jessica from Desert Bloom Quilting
Connie from Freemotion by the River
Kate from Seams Like a Dream
Sharon from Yellow Cat Quilt Designs
Tina from Quilting Affection Designs
Jennifer from The Inquiring Quilter
Barb from Bejeweled Quilts
Sally from Sally’s Quilting Corner
Jeanette from Inch Worm Fabrics
Connie from Kauffman Designs
Joan from Moosestash Quilting
Bernadine from Needle and Foot
Bea from Beaquilter
Cheryl from Cheryl Lynch Quilts
Maryellen from Mary Mack’s Blog
Joyce from Hearts Creations
Marlene from Kissed Quilts
Karen from The Quilt Rambler
Marian from Seams to be Sew
Laura from Slice of Pi Quilts
Linda from Inspired Layers
Vicki from Vicki’s Crafts and Quilting
Nancy from Masterpiece Quilting
Carol from FunThreads Designs
Terri from Meanderings Along Lizard Creek
Alison from Little Bunny Quilts
Suzy from Adventurous Applique and Quilting
Jean-Sophie from Sophie Junction
Janet from Whispers of Yore

 

Linda Ramrath

Inspired Layers

 

Leave a Reply

