Celebrate with Flowers

March 18 is National Quilting Day! Let’s celebrate with a mini quilt done with Island Batik fabrics!

My March challenge is to use fabric from box #1 excluding the spring/summer 2017 fabric (which is very special in an of its self) and paper piece or English paper piece something. I do not often quilt with either one of those techniques. I have done each technique however.

I chose to English paper piece a Dresden Plate with 16 mini plates. Because this is a mini English paper piecing project, my entire quilt is a very small size. 17″ x 17″

I started by choosing a background and then lots of purples from the 5″ Drizzle charm squares. Then I selected a lime green for the centers of the Dresden plates.

img_20170218_170115122

I used glue stick to fold the fabric over the template. The official way to English paper piece is to baste, with thread, the fabric around the template. Sorry, I have little patience, so I found a quicker alternative.

After playing with various arrangements, I decide where to start stitching by hand, the plates together.  This is my design…

img_20170219_151904

After stitching the straight edges of each Desden plate, I appliqued the sections onto the background.

Then I cut out the background so that I could peel the templates out.  Because I used glue, I needed to use a tool to release the glue joint and then the template popped out.

Here is a photo of the back of the quilt before I popped out the template pieces…

img_20170304_170953

I love the colors. I like that the hand work is over. Now to add a popper and border.

IMG_20170311_105931

Do you like the popper?

Lastly, I layered the top with Dream Orient and Dream Wool batting and a backing and quilted it. I used Quilter’s Preview Paper to try out a few design ideas. Since I do not have a computer hooked up to my sewing machine, I quilt everything using free motion. The concept is to fill the space and use density of design to emphasize elements. This is a traditional setting, so I think I will cross over the popper line with my quilting.

 

This is my finished mini quilt along with a close up view.  I like the way the Superior Silk Thread stitches flawlessly through the double batting.  I like the puff of the double curved lines and how you can really see the beautiful Island Batik background fabric with the minute stippling.

This quilt makes me think of my grandmother who loved purple so much! It also gets me ready for Spring, which is right around the corner (or should I say after one more snowstorm).

Worldwide Quilting Day - Ambassadors

Linda Ramrath

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in finished project, free motion quilting, Island Batik, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

