Mom learns to Free motion Quilt!

I just received a phone call from my mom. She is still sewing on the green Viking sewing machine she taught me to sew on in the 1960’s. She bought a free motion foot a few months ago….

The excitement in her voice was palpable!  My mom found the courage to free motion quilt on a table square around some shamrocks.

She said it wasn’t perfect. I could tell she was proud of herself for trying. AND it was good enough! I am bursting with pride!  I accomplished something I never dreamed of….or maybe dreamed of but kept telling myself to let that dream die.

Here’s Mom’s quilted table runner:

0306171912a

It’s hard to be the daughter of two perfectionists and be so imperfect.  It’s fabulous to know that my mom conquered a fear at age 80+ (she would not like me to share her age).

I cannot tell you how good that phone call made me feel.  Sometimes I think I should have moved an hour and a half or more away many years ago.

Great job Mom!

Linda

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in free motion quilting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mom learns to Free motion Quilt!

  1. Cheryl Burke says:

    Yeah!!! Moms are never too old to learn something new 🙂

  2. Jane Sherman says:

    Such a lovely story, Linda. You should be proud.

Leave a Reply

