Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

“Gal”entines Day! February 13, 2017

Filed under: batik confections,Island Batik,Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 3:59 pm
Tags: ,

This is not a typo! I’ve been informed that Feb. 13th is “Gal”entine’s Day.  It’s a day to celebrate our girlfriends! In celebration this year I was challenged to make a mug rug from specific fabrics in my Island Batik box. Because I haven’t received my box yet and the day has arrived, I used some Island Batik fabrics from my stash along with some other fabrics to create something to celebrate with the rest of the world!

My new friends and those who stay connected from Massachusetts keep meet inspired to create almost every day! Thank you! I celebrate all of you!

I mailed a few postcards.img_20170211_094754

I added a little bling to the elephants and hearts. Elephants seem to be very popular this year. I’ve seen lots of quilts with elephants. Elephants are big and strong and have a friendly smile. They remind me of the big, strong and friendly ideas we share as girlfriends. Thank you for making a better version of myself!

I also designed a mug rug with a contemporary flare. This idea came from learning to add “poppers” to quilts at a retreat I attended in January. This can be made with 3/4″ strips OR any size scrap at least 3/4″ side or more and the Popper technique. I described this technique in my last Inspired Layers Newsletter.  You can sign up for my newsletter on my website, http://www.inspiredlayers.com.

I also changed the size by adding a few more inches to the top and bottom pieces to turn this into a mouse pad.  My hubby uses a cordless mouse, but is concerned about scratches that may be left in the table top. As a result, he’s getting a new mouse pad for Valentine’s day tomorrow so I can have my mug rug he is currently using for a mouse pad.

I think  of my Grammie and how she would laugh as I describe what our table would look like with all the use that darn mouse has gotten over the years.  Can you imagine living to 99, as my grandmother did and using the mouse as much as my husband does?  I think the next generation’s kids would see a deep cup carved out of our table! (HaHa) Quilted mouse pad to the rescue!

img_20170127_211432

img_20170127_214452

 

 

 

I will remake this mug rug with the  Island Batik fabrics as soon as they arrive.  I think the snow we’ve been having this past week has hindered the shipment. It’s all good!  The snow is needed to quench the thirst of the land after a very dry summer last year.  It is really beautiful in New England. I feel so happy for the mountain resorts full of snow boarders, skiers and snowshoers too! Our coal stove is keeping us warm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy  “Gal”entine’s Day,

Linda Ramrath

Ialand Batik Ambassador

Inspired Layers, owner

 

4 Responses to ““Gal”entines Day!”

  1. Terri VandenBosch Says:

    Great use of small strips of fabric too precious to throw out!!

  2. Millie Says:

    You are amazing. I remember you just having your first show! I enjoy seeing you evolve to this incredible artist & amazing businesswoman.

    Love & prayers for your continued success!

    Millie

  3. Stephanie Says:

    I love your elephants! Those hearts will look so nice in the IB fabrics!


Leave a Reply

