Kennel Quilts

As I wait for my Island Batik box of goodies, I made some kennel quilts 12″ x 18″ with all cotton batting and fabrics. Since it’s close to Valentine’s Day, I started with some Valentine fabric and dog paw print fabric that I had in my stash. I also used a little “pop” of black print fabric using the technique I described in my February newsletter.

Here is a close up of the “pop”.

img_20170206_101304949

How did I get that 1/4″ “pop” so even? I cut a 1″ strip of back fabric (my fabric reads black even though it has a print on it).  I stitch the fabric to the paw print fabric using 1/4″ seam allowance.

Press the towards the “pop” and not the paw print.

With right sides together add border fabric which is my valentine fabric.

Turn the fabrics so you can see the 1/4″ seam facing you.

Using your 1/4″ foot, stitch using the left part of your foot along the stitching line.  The extra pop fabric can be trimmed after stitching.

I find this technique easier than the flange for adding a straight pop of color.

Let me know what you think.

 

Here’s another sample:

Then I made 2 more kennel quilts from Island Batik fabric which I could wait to stitch!

Happy quilting,

Linda Ramrath

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

