Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

Mistyfuse to Collage Quilt January 22, 2017

Last fall I attended a quilting get away in Kennebunkport, ME. I brought lots of Kaffe Fassett fabric scraps and some Mistyfuse – white and Ultraviolet. I also packed my BoNash Amazing Pressing Sheet. These are three of my favorite quilting supplies.

I started by applying the Mistyfuse to the fabric scraps with the use of my Amazing Pressing Sheet and the heat of an iron.

img_20160910_104041990img_20160910_104102543img_20160910_110848624img_20160910_110902746

The next step was to trace my moose outline to the background fabric.

img_20160910_085810750

The fun begins! Free hand cut shapes to fill in the moose.  I decided to use hot colors and cool colors to differentiate the front of the antlers from the back.

I ironed on each antler after I was happy with the fabric choices.  Then I proceeded to collage the face and then the body.

img_20160910_214616107_hdr

Next I layered the backing, two layers of batting (cotton request and then wool on top) and then the top.  I secured it with a few safety pins and raw edge appliqued the pieces down with a purple thread.  I like the dark color thread.

More fun continues when I put white thread in my HandiQuilter and a pre-wound white Fil-tec size M bobbin. I didn’t plan any stitches.  I wanted to sew lots of different “doodles” in the background. I like how the shiney thread catches the light. Although this is background stitching, I didn’t want the background to disappear.  Hidden in the stitching are some moose tracks wandering through the quilt.

cool-bull-moose

I self faced this quilt because I didn’t want a frame around it.

I have already done this pattern using very different fabrics.  It’s fun and easy.  I like my playful quilt so much that I made greeting cards for friends and family this past holiday season.

I’ve also added a workshop on how to collage quilt. My website will be updated and I am taking bookings for workshops starting in April.

Linda Ramrath

Inspired Layers

508-769-7881

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Mistyfuse to Collage Quilt”

  1. LAURA CLINE Says:

    OMG I love your moose!!!!!!!!! And your quilting is exquisite!


Leave a Reply

