Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

Dresden Plate Quilts December 8, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 7:35 pm

I was given two Dresden Plate quilts to quilt.  They were both purchased for short money. They were both quilt tops.

The first one I tackled was stitched together by hand and by machine with thick quilting thread.  The  fabric used consisted of plaids. They were stitch to old dish towels.  The kind my grandmother had.  I often dried dishes after Sunday dinner at Grammie’s house.  My mother had several plain, white/yellowed dish drying towels too.  They were rectangular in shape. Notice in the photo below how the edges are all off…

img_20161022_083638194

My customer is not a quilter and liked the irregular shape. There were however, hems in the seams and many holes in this quilt top.  I needed to take the quilt apart and square up the blocks and try to darn and mend some of the holes. Which I did. Then I stitched the top back together.

My next step was to look at my stash for plaids….none!

At my next Delectable Mountain Quilters meeting, my new quilter friends brought plaids from their stash for me to look through.  I decided to create a story of the dresden plate sections falling into place on this quilt. I covered up bigger holes with dresden plate sections.  I hand appliqued them onto the top.

Next step is to layer the quilt.  I found 108″ wide fabric with old newspaper clippings collaged with sayings of love and blessings.  I used this for the back. I used Quilter’s Dream Cotton for the batting.

The fun part was next. I quilted a spiral in the center of each Dresden Plate block and then 1/4″ away from the edge of each plate, I echoed within and then 3 times around each block. To finish, I stitched a ribbon connecting to the loose dresden template pieces.

img_20161116_120128690

I stitched the binding on by hand and returned it to my customer on Thanksgiving.  The note she sent to me is priceless. Although the shape was a square, she was very pleased and amazed at the transformation.

img_20161118_122444716

The second Dresden Plate quilt I received to quilt was hand appliqued with the finest of stitches.  The template pieces were curved, unlike the quilt above. This quilt was a real steal!

img_20161022_075304014

I was provided a backing. I pressed it and then layers cotton batting and the quilt top.

I know this customer loves cross-hatching so I did that in the center of each block.  Then I echoed the Dresden plated inside, stitched close around them and feathered along the lattice.  It was fun and a pleasure to be a part of such a beautifully stitched quilt.

img_20161114_143940840

Perhaps some more cross-hatching could be added to connect the Dresden plates with the feathers.  What do you think?

I never know what quilts will enter my studio each year.  It is fun to see similar patterns come in and go out quilted very differently.

Linda

Inspired Layers

 

One Response to “Dresden Plate Quilts”

  1. Marianna Says:

    Gorgeous! U turned a tattered quilt into quilt show quality! Amazing. Not that I am surprised. I know you do great work!


Leave a Reply

