Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

T-shirt memory quilt July 7, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 4:36 pm

Every year I make about 6 t-shirt quilts.  They are each unique.  I love to puzzle the t-shirts and other memorabilia together to create a keepsake.  Last December I made one in memory of a young man who died.  It was a gift from two grieving parents to their other son.  The entire experience was a blessing to me.  I felt honored to be chosen by this couple to cut up and create a quilt.  I have not have the unfortunate experience of losing a child.  I don’t know how I would feel, first going through the t-shirts, ties, photos, memorabilia and selecting items to honor his memory.

I received many items.  I am so thankful to my husband for helping me to build a design wall in my studio. This really helps when designing a memory quilt.

I start by laying out the items on the floor.

WP_20141120_16_13_58_Pro Next step is to iron on an interfacing to the back of each item.

WP_20141120_13_57_45_ProI printed out some photos on to Printed Treasurers paper.

Next is to trim items and put them on my design wall.

WP_20141124_10_38_48_ProI found fabric with musical notes and trumpets and clarinets on it.  What a lucky find!

Here’s the final quilt…

WP_20141209_14_49_03_Pro (2)

I have some pretty remarkable customers. Thanks for the opportunity to share this with so many!

Enjoy every moment!

Linda

 

Leave a Reply

