This Week (44) I…

…taped an episode of “A Quilter’s Touch” with special guest, Joyce Gilmore, who started the Brian’s quilts effort at the Milford Hospital.  Joyce shared her story of how this effort started.  In the past 12 years many small quilts have been donated to this effort.  Thankfully, still births are declining but other mothers are in need of a warm, comfy quilt for their newborns.  The nurses give the quilts to those in need.  I enjoyed sharing this time with such an inspirational quilter.  Joyce also started the Thimble Pleasures Quilt Guild in Mendon, MA.  This is one of her most rewarding endeavors.

If you are inspired to help others with your quilting skills, do it.  YOu never know how many others will be inspired by your kindness.

WP_20141029_14_45_03_Pro

I also had fun on a field trip to Bits and Pieces Quilt Shop in Pelham, NH.  We enjoyed a nice lunch at Dimitrious Restaurant just down route 38.

WP_20141031_12_56_50_Pro WP_20141031_15_20_19_Pro

Although a detour sent us on a longer journey home, we made it home safely. Thank you to Connie, our bus driver.

AnnMarie was the winner of Quilters Dream Green batting at the “Battings” class I taught at Emma’s Quilt Cupboard.  I brought 20 different battings to try with the Platinum 16 mid arm sewing machine.  There are so many great choices these days.

On Saturday, I was demonstrating on the Babylock Tiara mid arm sewing machine at A Notion to Quilt. A mid arm sewing machine is so much fun!  I love the small foot print and the ease of free motion quilting.  I have quilted up to a king size quilt on this machine.  My favorite thing to do is “Doodling” with this machine. Everyone got a chance to try the machine. It was a fun event!

a notion to quilt

 

This week was full of quilting fun and friendship!  Thanks for a great week!

Linda

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in A Quilter's Touch, classes, finished project, free motion quilting, HCAT, quilt shows, Thimble Pleasures Quilt Guild, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

