Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

The Week (40) I… October 7, 2014

Filed under: finished project,free motion quilting — inspiredlayerslinda @ 1:39 pm

…traveled to Bits ‘n Pieces Quilt Shop in Pelham, NH.  This shop is located a stones throw from the Massachusetts border.  It looks little from the outside, but has 7000+ bolts for fabric for sale. If it is your first time visiting, they give you a free fat quarter!

Why did I venture in? I’m planning a field trip for the Holliston Senior Center quilters on October 31st.  This shop will be our main destination.  I also taste tested food at a restaurant nearby.  My job is so much fun!

I also attended a thank you luncheon at the Senior Center for all the people involved in running the various tables at the Harvest Fair in September 2014.  It takes a lot of people to run such a successful fundraiser which provides classes and entertainment for seniors (55+).

My daughter traveled home from college for a quick weekend visit too!  Her birthday and my husband’s birthday are a day apart so we celebrated both of them this weekend.  Here’s a photo of Bethany opening her new quilt, “Wyoming Forest.”

WP_20141003_19_32_34_Pro WP_20141003_13_50_50_Pro (1)

It is fun to take my “Mango Mix” pattern and mix it up a bit to create a new quilt with appliques.  I don’t even follow my own patterns!  I used “Jungle Java” Tonga Treat and did not like the very light strips so I have saved those for another quilt.  That’s why I changed the dimensions and left off the inner border this time.  Even my own patterns are merely suggestions.  I like to change things up every time I quilt.

Hope you had a great week too!

Linda

 

Leave a Reply

