This Week (39) I…

…quilted two “modern” quits.  The first one was designed by Barbara Wittenberg. I quilted it with black thread and made straight lines that created some triangles.  It is hard to see the design of the quilting because of the black thread on black fabric.  I used the Quilter’s Preview Paper and drew with a red dry erase marker the pattern I was thinking of quilting so that Barbara would have a good idea of what it would look like after being quilted.  I wonder if she would have liked it more with red thread.  Modern quilting is very new to me.  I’ve been watching the movement take hold here in Mass. recently.  Let me know what you think.

WP_20140923_09_33_43_Pro WP_20140923_09_33_55_Pro WP_20140923_09_34_03_Pro WP_20140923_09_34_13_Pro WP_20140923_09_34_31_ProThis last photo is of the back.  Barbara continues the design process on the back of her quilts.

This next quilt is called “Dimensions” by Angela Walters. I did not use solid fabrics.  I used what I had in my studio.  The top was made on my recent quilting get away.  This week I quilted it.  Still sewing on the rod pocket.

WP_20140929_15_27_47_ProLet me know what you think….I quilted this one with four different color threads.  The light green has cream thread free motion quilted up and down.  The light purple is quilted with white thread in a similar fashion. The dark green was quilted with polyester variegated green thread with 1/2″ spaced lines and then a fat figure eight free motion quilted on the bottom rows.  The dark purple was quilted with purple polyester thread.  Although I had no problem quilting with the polyester threads and cotton threads, I do prefer cotton thread.

I also taught a “Doodling” class…..look at some practice pieces….

WP_20140923_17_31_48_Pro WP_20140923_19_47_56_ProI can’t wait for the final class and a group photo of all the accomplished doodlers!

Happy Quilting!

Linda

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

