Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

This Week (28) I… July 15, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 6:50 pm

…spent the week at T Cross Ranch in Dubois, Wyoming with my husband.  Our daughter, Bethany is working at the ranch this summer, meeting people from around the world.

 

We arrived in a convertible Mustang to this picturesque place.  

Our rental car

Our rental car

The warmth and genuine hospitality just envelopes your as you near the end of the dirt road leading to cabins surrounded by mountains.

T Cross Ranch cabins

T Cross Ranch cabins

Riding horses is way outside my comfort zone, but this year (the second year visiting T Cross Ranch) I was working on the virtue of Fortitude.  I was facing my fear of horses and participated in a trail ride up to “Hole in the Wall” on Monday afternoon.

Hole in the Wall

Hole in the Wall

It was a nice ride on “Sonny” and the view was breath-taking! We all rode back down to the ranch and enjoyed a country dinner and dessert too!

On tuesday, Rob and I and Jennifer, a guest from Chicago went on a pack trip to “5 pockets”. This trip included several water crossings (on horseback).

crossing water

There was a lot of snow this past winter, which melted and swelled the streams.

The camp where we stayed was like “the Promised Land.” It was a grassy spot surrounded by streams and mountains. There was a gentle breeze and beautiful sunshine.  We built a fire and shared stories and a delicious meal of ham steak and pineapple, poppin’ potatoes and green beans.  The tents were cozy and the night flew by nestled in our comfy sleeping bags.

Bear fence

Notice the white bear fence surrounding the camp.  There were bear prints near the bathroom area in the morning.  This sight reminded me of the time Rob proposed marriage to me in New Hampshire.  I fell off a log in surprise of seeing the engagement ring.  It was not expected in 1983.  Why was I so fearful of taking this trip?  If you ever get the chance to go on a pack trip, with Boone as your host, don’t even hesitate!  It will be a gift of a lifetime!

The trail ride back to the ranch took over 4 hours.  We stopped for lunch after riding through a field of 50 head of cattle grazing.  I racked up a few more fortitude points along that ride.

On Thursday I participated in gymkhana – (games on horseback for children at heart). Here I am doing the barrel race.

barrels

I also did the pole race….

poles

This is penning a cow….

penning a cow

I worked with Rob and Jennifer to get this cow into a pen at the end of the corral.

Last year I was a bystander.  This year, I fully participated while on horseback! Fortitude!

The trail rides were fun this year. I learned to communicate with my horse.  We worked on trust all week.

On Friday I declined another all day ride to another beautiful location, and drove to Dubois to have lunch with my daughter and her co-worker, Jessica.

The cowboys and cabin girls work very hard, daily, hoping to make every guest happy and comfortable during their stay at T Cross Ranch.  You can learn as much as you want about horses and nature.  Just ask, and each person who works there is willing to sahre their experiences with you.

Do you have fears? Is this the summer to face your fears and accrue some fortitude?  I’m glad I did.

A HUGE “Thank You!” to Mark and Gretchen Cardell, owners of T Cross Ranch and Boone, Michael, Jake and Lee for their encouragement throughout the week.  Bethany, Jessica, Jessie, Kaitlyn, and AnnaLisa were friendly and helpful too!

Don’t put off a vacation like this.  Go to http://www.tcross.com and book a stay in one of the cabins or sheep wagons today!  It will be a vacation to remember for a lifetime!  We stayed in Moose Belle cabin, but all the cabins are unique, warm and inviting.

t cross ranch entrance

Linda

 

 

Leave a Reply

