Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

This Week (21) I… May 26, 2014

Filed under: finished project,guild talks,Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 8:21 pm

…started the week out by visiting the Cornerstone Quilter’s Guild in Charlton, MA.  It was so nice to meet friendly, helpful people the moment I entered the parking lot.  Friends of my parents greeted me.  Friends from teaching classes at the Charlton Sewing Center greeted me.  The newly elected Vice President, Roland was even prepared to hear “my confessions” in my new talk, “Confessions of a Catholic Quilter.”  The brought his clerical stole to the meeting.  We shared a lot of laughs as I confessed 10 quilter “rules” I knowingly violated and what I produced as a result of those decisions.  I added many names to my newsletter and Doodle list.  Thanks to everyone who made this Sunday one to remember!

The weather was beautiful outside.  My drive home was nice and then we were off to a nice dinner outside at the Oregon Club in Ashland.  Our daughter left for Utah on Thursday morning, so we wanted to have a special dinner with her before she was off on her next adventure.

As the week progressed I finished two more Linda’s Clothesline totes.  This first one is made with 20 Pacific Bali pop strips.

Pacific Tote

 

This next one is from 30 Caramel Bali Pop strips:

Caramel Tote

 

I enjoyed teaching Doodle Sea Turtle at Emma’s Quilt Cupboard, a midarm guide class, and finishing up the top of the 60+ t-shirt quilt.

I love to use the Sew Easy guide for sewing the 2 1/2″ strips together before covering the cording.  I use no pins.  This guide is very helpful.  I just love it!

sew easy guide

sew easy guide 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P1040638

 

 

P1040637

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I use no pins. I just line up the strips right sides together and sew keeping the solid line on the diagonal.  I am now selling these guides in two sizes.  $5.50 small and $8.50 large.

I use this guide to make binding also!  I just love a tool with many applications.  I show how to use it when making my pattern, “Roman Villa.”

 

Hope you had a great week, quilting!

Linda

 

Leave a Reply

