Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

This Week (15) I… April 15, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 7:42 pm

…went to the Museum of Fine Arts with a friend.photo (76)

We looked at the quilts from the Pilgrim/Roy Collection.  There were lessons about color and how to achieve good vibrations, perfect harmony and optical illusions.  I highly recommend going to the museum to see this display.  The gift shop had several wonderful items too!

What was most amazing to me was my personal reaction to each quilt.  I seemed to have a heart reaction within 5 seconds of looking at each quilt.  I learn more about myself every day!

What colors are you attracted to?  Complementary? Analogous? Cool? Warm?  Which colors are missing from your stash?  Have you ever taken stock of your stash and tried to create a color wheel?  You may be surprised at the result!

Next, I gave my new “Confessions of a Catholic Quilter” talk to St. Mary’s Women’s Group. It was a very delightful night. It was especially nice for me to once again combine two of my favorite passions, quilting and Christianity.

photo (73)

 

My final stop for the week was in Springfield, MA at Pioneer Valley Quilt Show.  I was a vendor.  I made a “Linda’s Clothesline Tote” and demonstrated sewing curves with NO PINS, NO STRESS, and NO PUCKERS!  I also demonstrated some free motion quilting.  I now carry Doodle Dog kits (with practice pieces included).

photo (74)

Have you ever seen a quilted air balloon?  It is so nice to have some men with new ideas in the guild.  There is a weather balloon inside of this display.  They used a hair dryer to blow this up.  Each section was quilted by various guild members and assembled by the member who saw this idea on the internet.  Now there are 5 world wide.

What an exciting week!

Linda

 

Leave a Reply

