Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

This Week (13) I… April 1, 2014

Filed under: classes,free motion quilting,Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 1:33 pm

…enjoyed quilting using a Platinum 16 Midarm sit-down sewing machine.  I purchased a sit-down 16″ midarm sewing machine about 8 years ago. I absolutely LOVE IT! Last November (2013) Viking released a 16″ midarm sit-down quilting machine, named the Platinum 16.  Babylock has also released a sit-down 16″ quilting machine called the Tiara.  Do you have a dealer near you?  Maybe you should give it a test drive!

Here’s what I did while demonstrating how to use the Platinum 16 quilting machine by Viking…

starting to doodle

starting to doodle

 

 

Doodle Horse

Doodle Horse

P1040543

Once you sit down and try to quilt on one of these machines, you will see how easy it is.  There is not pushing and shoving of the quilt through the 6″ arm of your machine.  I highly recommend you purchase an open toe foot so you can see where you are going.  You will become a custom quilter and finish all your UFOs in no time!

I love to demonstrate and show some of my quilts which I have quilted using various battings. I love to experiment. Call me to demonstrate at your local quilt shop!

 

12 Responses to “This Week (13) I…”

  1. Josie Says:

    My jaw is on the floor, your quilting is simply stunning!

  2. Em Says:

    So cool. One day I aspire to this. Thanks for sharing.

  3. carol young Says:

    do you have a pattern for the doodle horse or did you make it up? if you have a pattern I’d it available for purchase?

    • I am working on releasing the pattern for the horse soon. I need to make another one in bright colors to show how the pattern can be transformed into a carousel horse too! It should be out this summer. Keep reading my blog or sign up for my newsletter to be the first to know when it is available.
      Havefun with your new machine!

  4. Wow, I would never have thought of this. I truly appreciate your sharing this and the inspiration.

  5. lauriedault Says:

    So, was this free-motion or did you program it or was it a combination of both?

  6. Pam M Says:

    Amazing. Totally gob-smacked.


Leave a Reply

