Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

This Week (8) I… February 24, 2014

Filed under: A Quilter's Touch,quilt bindings,quilt shows,Thimble Pleasures Quilt Guild — inspiredlayerslinda @ 2:33 am

…spent some time helping the non-profit group, Holliston’s Washington Street Players by mending lots of holes in lots of curtains.  They are working on their next play which will be held at the Holliston Senior Center at the end of March and first weekend in April.  I’m looking forward to seeing it!  It is amazing how thankful the actors are that I can fix their curtain back drops.  All it took was a little fabric, some Mistyfuse and some zigzag stitching to mend the many holes.  I also suggested that they put duct tape over the ends of the poles so they wouldn’t get caught on the edges and tear.  It was very humorous to see their repairs with giant safety pins and duct tape.

P1040477

P1040476 P1040475

With 8 curtains done and delivered, I now have an even bigger pile of curtains to fix.  I love a challenge, so I’m looking for to figuring out how to fix the rest of these curtains with the little fabric left. Wish me luck!

It is nice to be able to use  my passion for sewing/quilting to help others.  Learning how new tools work and can be applied to jobs outside of quilting is very  satisfying.  Who knew black Mistyfuse could rescue a non-profit theater group.

I also taped a TV show, “A Quilter’s Touch” on quilt bindings.  I shared 9 different binding techniques.  When I was thinking about this show and reviewing my piles of quilts, I was surprised to find 12 different binding techniques in the first two piles of quilts.  I love to learn and try new applications for techniques.  This show was fun to tape.  It is shows like this one that connect me to my first career.  I was always pretty good at math and always loved sewing.  I graduated from Northeastern University with a Mechanical Engineering degree.  I often look at that time in my life as a time to think outside the box.  With tons of math, the approach I often took was to think about what I was looking for and which formula would get me there.  When I am approached with a new challenge, I enjoy figuring out how to solve it with all the new tools I learn about each year.

P1040496

Next week I will edit and release the show to our HCAT newly designed website, http://www.hcattv.org.  This non-profit, HCAT provides a variety of informative, educational and entertaining shows to the world, produced by  Holliston residents.  I am very thankful for the opportunity to share my quilting knowledge via “A Quilter’s Touch.”

Labels and sleeves were also sewn onto the eight quilts I will have on display at the Thimble Pleasures Quilt Show which is coming up March 8th and 9th at the Blackstone Valley Technical School from 10a.m.-4p.m. I will be there both days.  I hope you will stop by and say “hello”.  I can guarantee that this show will be worth the trip.  In addition to 200+ quilts and two years of challenge quilts, our guild has made many pillowcases for sale.  All the proceeds from the pillowcases will go to another non-profit organization which helps people of all ages deal with the loss of a loved one.

Non-profit organizations are full of good people eager to help others by entertaining them, or instructing them, or helping them with a listening ear or comfort quilt.  It is so nice when these nice people come together or overlap their efforts.  I am honored to have the connections discussed in this post.

It’s been a good week!

 

Leave a Reply

