Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

This Week (7) I… February 18, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 8:55 pm

….finished teaching “Doodle Dog” at Emma’s Quilt Cupboard in Franklin, MA.  This class is done in three parts.  First we learn about doodles.  We draw several linear, curvy and combination doodles on paper.  It’s fun and exciting to share doodles with our neighbors.

The second class is an opportunity to free motion quilt various designs on samples and on our Doodle dogs!

The third class is about finishing our doodles, filling in a background, and using Mistyfuse to add pops of color.  Once the quilt is squared up, a flange and binding is attached.  Three nights yielded loads of fun and many beautiful Doodle quilts!

4 doodle dogs doodle art 3 doodle dogs

 

Each “Doodle Dog” is unique with the artist’s favorite doodles!  This class was loads of fun! I developed a new doodle which I call”pearls and ribbons.” I will show it in my next pattern.

My favorite part was when one quilter said (that her)” FEAR of free motion quilting was conquered!” YIPPIE!  It is FREE motion FUN without stress!

 

If you would like to take a “Doodle Dog” class, simply share my contact information (website: inspiredlayers.com,mailing address: Linda Ramrath, 67 Juniper Road, Holliston, MA 01746, 508-769-7881) with your local quilt shop.  I love to travel to meet quilters all over New England and beyond!

I have set up a separate email list to send those from my classes and those who request via my newsletter, a monthly doodle shape to fill in with your own doodles.  I Doodle each shape and post my Doodle quilts on my personal facebook page, Linda Ramrath and my business page, Inspired Layers.  I look forward to seeing yours too!

If you would like to be added to this email list, simply send me an email requesting to be added to the Doodle List.

 

Leave a Reply

