This (Week 4) I…

…had so much fun with my HandiQuilter Sweet 16. I meandered on a Hawaiian Postcard quilt…

P1040464P1040465

Then I tried a new design, inspired by one of the fabrics in this black and white with red quilt…..

P1040462 P1040460

This was so much fun that I will use it today in one of my new “Doodle” quilts.

I believe that learning comes when you least expect it.  I love it when a customer says, “Do whatever you are inspired to quilt.  I don’t want meandering on this quilt.”

Every time I sit at my HQ Sweet 16 sit down model, I remember a student, Sarah Adams who asked me to show her how to free motion quilt with a domestic machine.  With just one lesson, she quilted a baby blanket with different patterns in each 10″ square.  It was truly amazing!  This girl (16 at the time) went on to study fashion at Framingham State College and graduated last year (2013).  She was the recipient of the Thimble Pleasures Quilt Guild Scholarship, and recently displayed t-shirt quilts which she designed and then quilted on my HQ16 machine.

Sarah's t-shirt quilts

Why do I tell you about Sarah? Sarah is the ideal student.  She sits at my HQ16 machine with great anticipation.   She has no fear!  She sees the potential in the time she has before her.  She sets the Bose Soundlink on her favorite Pandora station.  Then she gets lost in her work.  If you want someone to create a memory quilt for you, let Sarah Adams of Gloucester, MA create it for you.  The experience is productive joy!

Sarah is working on a website to share her talents.  For now, you may contact her at sarahadamsm33@gmail.com.

Happy Quilting!

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in finished project, free motion quilting, memory quilts, t-shirt quilts, Thimble Pleasures Quilt Guild, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

