Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

This Week 2, I… January 13, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 7:06 pm
Tags: ,

Found my inner child and “Doodled” my dog, Rocky.  He is a mixed breed; half Basset hound and half  Husky.

First, I used a light box and traced the outline with a Sewline pencil.

P1040445

 

Next, I put black thread in my sewing machine and free motion quilted the outline.

P1040448

 

Looking at my paper copy for the doodle designs, I free motion quilted this cutie in no time.  Can you say, “FUN!”

P1040443

I used denser fillers where Rocky is black and more open fillers where Rocky is white.  I am very excited to show a full class of 12 students how I create “Doodle” quilts tonight!

doodle rocky

Doodle Rocky

I also “Doodled” Sammy, my husband’s Sister-in-law’s dog.  He is a little Sheltie. doodle sammy

Both of these quilts are 12″ x 12″.  Do you want to “doodle” your dog?  Simply take a photo.  Then enlarge it and draw an outline on paper.  Then section the drawing.  I use thin cotton batting and wool batting in my quilt sandwich.  I used black thread for Rocky and dark brown thread for Sammy.  My “doodle” designs are shown in my “Doodle Dog” pattern available at Emma’s Quilting & Sewing and online http://www.inspiredlayers.com.

Send me photos of your “Doodle Dog”.

Happy Quilting!

Linda

 

Leave a Reply

