Wyoming Vacation Quilt

Image
This is the result of my Fortune Cookie Challenge.  My fortune cookie read, “You won’t be bored for long! New adventures are on their way.”

This past Sunday I returned from a week on vacation at T Cross Ranch in Dubois, Wyoming. I must say that I lost a little sleep, fearing getting on a horse at my age, with my back issues.  My fortune kept coming to mind.  I did go and ride a horse, Steady Eddy, every day for 5 days.  I learned to mount the horse, cross through cold rushing water and step over downed timber.  I also went on 2-3 hour rides up to glacier lakes for lunch and fly fishing (for those who brought poles).  The trails varied from fairly open to extremely tight, ducking branches and holding on for dear life! There were steep sections going up the mountains and not so surprising, going down too (hahaha!).

Upon my arrival home, I started to sketch on some clear “Quilter’s Preview Paper.”  This is a new item for me.  I love it!  I can draw what I am thinking and change things up before I start stitching.  Especially on this modern technique background, I could more easily visuallize my quilting.  I do not draw on my quilt and try to trace a line.  I think of spaces and how I want to fill that space.  I also think about movement and I want the viewer to move along the quilt and see some of my somewhat hidden elements.

 

In this quilt, I stitched a cow (Ella) and a cowboy hat.

 Image

I also quilted a buffalo because we saw so many right beside the highway! no fences!

 Image

I quilted a stream with rocks and a fly fishing rod.

 Image

I quilted the T Cross entrance….

 Image

 

There are two horses on this quilt and a fire pit too!

 Image

I used a very dark brown thread for some of the quilting, including one very tall tree.

 

Then I used a variegated dark brown thread for other trees and grass line.

I used a very light tan to stipple and insert more grass to make the background recede.  This allows the animals and other elements to pop forward.  The batting I used was wool.  This is a good place to use wool to make the clouds puffy and the animals poof out. ( It that really a word?)

My vacation was relaxing.  I loved the pace.  I shot skeet one afternoon and a 22 at little targets.  I tried some line dancing, learned a new card game, 99, went on 5 trail rides and watched 2 rodeos.  All my meals were tasty and prepared by a chef.

The weather was cool at night (55’s) and in the 70’s and 80’s during midday.  We did experience a 10 minutes rain/lightening/hail storm during one ride.  I held onto my horse and weathered the storm on him.  Every day was an adventure! I’m looking forward to booking a vacation at T Cross Ranch again next year.  We may have to go a few days earlier and see Yellowstone too. Although I did download my photos from Wyoming, creating a memory quilt seems quicker for me than scrapbooking.  I will get around to scrapbooking my trip someday…..hopefully!

Happy quilting your vacation memories!

 

Linda

 Image

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

