Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

Country Village Quilters Guild May 16, 2013

 

 

 

Country Valley Quilt Guild social

Yesterday I drove to Moultonborough, NH to share my quilting  journey with 75 ladies from two quilting guilds.  These two guilds are only two towns away from each other.  One makes hundreds of quilts for Veterans and the other makes hundreds of quilts for David’s Place, for children.  Every spring one guild invites the other to a luncheon with all kinds of homemade sandwiches, salads, and desserts.  In the fall, the other guild is the hostess and provides homemade soups and desserts.

I was the speaker yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed meeting so many talented (even nationally award winning) quilters and judges.  I was thankful that they laughed at the right time! It was a day of sharing, fun, and sunshine.

There were about 20 challenge quilts which the guest guild voted on various categories.  It was so nice to hear that every quilt got a vote for a category.  The challenge was: create a quilt based on a song and it had to have a heart somewhere on it and there was a size requirement.  Fabulous job!

It rained almost my entire ride home, but the sun was trying to peek out as I exited the highway.  Dinner was moments from the table (Still amazed) and the lawn edged in preparation of prom photos tomorrow night.

If your guild would like to hear a fun and hopefully entertaining talk on quilting, check out my website calendar at  www.inspiredlayers.com. If I’m not already booked, fill out a contract and send it to me.  I enjoy tailoring my talk to the needs of your group.  I have sewn over 400 quilts to date, so I have lots of stories to share!

 

 

2 Responses to “Country Village Quilters Guild”

  1. Terri Sontra Says:

    It was a pleasure to have you Linda, very entertaining. If anyone ever needs a reference you’ll have 75 very enthusiastic ladies up north to offer one!


Leave a Reply

