Meet the Artist Reception at Norfolk Library

This was another special tuesday. My friend, Cindy was visiting and we had a long list of activities to accomplish before my first speaking engagement of 2013.  We made a list and decided to divide and conquer!  I went to the grocery store to buy some cheese and crackers for the food trays and Cindy sliced the scones, drizzled them with icing, and arranged them in cupcake papers.  We enjoyed a cup of tea and a spinach salad and were off again.  A few more stops; the cleaners to invite a creative person that works there to the recption, and then to the nail salon.

We set up a special table in honor of my grandmother with a framed photo, teacup, and Grammie’s Scrabble quilt, which my mother designed on paper and I pieced, stenciled and quilted in 2000.

The reception started at 6:30p.m. and 50 people came to see the show.  I am so thankful to my friends and family who spread the word.  A few people came as a result of an article in the Holliston Reporter.

I shared my story and how my grandmother’s love and encouragement inspired me to start my quilting business, teach at the Holliston Senior Center and at local quilt shops and even produce a cable TV show, “A Quilter’s Touch.”

First Quilt 1990

I shared the first quilt I ever made….This quilt was created before I learned about a rotary cutter and mat.  Each piece was cut with Ginger shears and a template cut from a cereal box.  It’s the memories attached to this quilt and seeing my grown children look for this quilt when they want to cuddle on the sofa that makes this quilt so special.

My journey started with “show and tell” at Grammie’s house.  I ventured outside my box to take classes at quilt shops and quilt shows.  I even joined a couple of quilt guilds.  Every quilt is a learning exercise for me.  I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and train my thoughts. Now I share tips and techniques to make quilting easier and more fun on the cable TV show, “A Quilter’s Touch.” I hope viewers will try quilting and touch someone with a quilted item sometime soon.

Norfolk Cable taped a piece

 

Norfolk Cable stopped by to tape a piece.

 

sharing

 

Many of the quilts were group projects.  Quilting is a social activity.  I’ve made significant relationships and learned a lot of life lessons from my quilting friends.  I consider all the round robins, row robins, inchie, and block swaps rich gifts from friends. My hope for every quilter or “quilter want-to-be” is to join a class at a quilt shop or senior center or watch online via http://www.hcattv.org and try a new technique and share it with someone.

The quilts will be on display until Jan. 28th.  If you missed the reception, just stop in to see my experimentation. I hope you will be inspired to set your own creativity free.

 

 

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in A Quilter's Touch, toastmasters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

