Placemats for charity

Today I finished making placemats for”meals on wheels”  Each year I make at least two placemats with a unique design.  This year I used abandoned blocks and a curvemaster foot to add borders which were cut freehand.  Then I layered the placemats and quilted them.  I squared up the placemats and bound them with 1 and 3/8″ strip.  This single binding strip is great for this application.  I have found that a double binding strip is too bulkie.  When you put six or eight placemats in a drawer, they curl up on the edges due to the binding.  If you use this single binding, they lay flat.

 

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

