Bali Bags

This is one of the Bali Bags I created on “A Quilter’s Touch” cable television show produced here in Holliston, MA.  The 28 minute video describes the tips and tools necessary to make a Bali Bag.  The pattern which inspired me to create this show is Bali Bags by auntiestwo.com.  The writer is a retired CPA who found herself surrounded with yards of clothesline and decided to cover it with fabric and started creating things.  Check out her website to see flip flops and a variety of other bags and basket patterns.

Hoffman of California donated Bali Pops with tastey new colors that I showed on tv.  The new colors, Blue Hawiian, Pink Lemonade, Sangria, Mango Margarita, Zinfandel and Grasshopper will be available at your local quilt shops in November 2010. 

I donated the Zinfandel bag to the Holliston Senior Center for their annual Harvest Fair this Sat., Sept.11, 2010.  This fundraiser is their only one to support all of their classes and events.

The Bali Bags tv show will be shown this thursday, September 9th at 3:00p.m. and 8:00p.m.  If you watch the show carefully, then try to create a bag, be aware….they are addicting!  Once you start, it’s hard to stop!

Some of my hints include pressing the strip in half lengthwise, using a cording foot, titanium needles, loosening the tension on the presser foot, and using the same weght thread in the bobbin as well as on top.

I also create “confetti” technique quilts with the scraps and strips left over from the Bali Pop.

If you live in Holliston, Hopkinton, Milford, Foxboro or any PEG town connected with these towns, check your local listing and request the show at a time convient for you.  Enjoy!

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in A Quilter's Touch. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bali Bags

  1. Margaret Peterson says:

    I recently completed two Bali bags and also used your video, which is very good! I do have one question — it must be my particular technique or rhythm in sewing, but found both bags do dip (a wavy pattern in middle on both sides. Is this normal or is specific technique I need to use to make lines more straight? I don’t seem to have the problem when making bowls or is it because bag is oval shaped? I did use your technique of holding slightly upwards while applying the rope.

    Thanks so much —

Leave a Reply

