Amish-inspired Quilts

I gave a talk on Amish-Inspired Quilts yesterday at Toastmasters.  I purchased fabric in Bethel, Vermont last week for this project.  The research and personal experience traveling to Pennsylvania twice in the past 30 years was a fun exercise to get excited about creating these small quilts for the talk.  What was most surprising to me was the timeline I discovered while surfing the internet.  Just when crarzy quilting was popular with American quilters, the Amish began quilting and selling their cool, muted color pallette quilts that are still very popular today.  I made a chart of 8 Authentic Amish Quilt Rules.  Then I showed my quilts and how they were inspired by the Amish rules, but very different, with varigated thread and the convenience of a 21st century sewing machine.

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

