Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

Clothesline? July 8, 2010

Filed under: finished project,Uncategorized — inspiredlayerslinda @ 2:51 pm

When is a clothesline  no longer clothesline?  When it is covered with beautiful batik fabric and stitched into a bag, basket or hat.  I have shared a few photos of my latest distraction from life.  I started by buying Carol’s pattern, Bali Bags, Fabric Covered Clothesline Crafts Tote Bag at MQX this past April.  The Hoffman Bali Pops are just perfect for this project.  Because I have a lot of batiks in my fabric collection, I used some of those too.  I found it very addictive.  By the seventh one, I have little different technique and lots more confidence to create such beautiful and unique items.

Some hints I will share in my next “A Quilter’s Touch” cable tv show include, loosening the pressure of the presser foot, using a cording foot for creating the covered cording, and using a titanium needle.  Don’t forget to buy lots of thread.  The first one I made, Spumoni bag, I used varigated thread in both the top and bobbin.  I used more than one spool of thread.  The rest of the baskets were created with varigated thread int he bobbin and a solid Auriful thread 50/2 ply in the top of the machine.  The varigated thread is in the bobbin because the outside is on the bottom during construction.  I intended to make a lining with pockets, but decided against it because the coiling was so fabulous to look at .  I use the bag for projects to bring somewhere, not as a pocketbook.  The pattern does have directions for creating custom linings for your bag.

I did talk to the author of the pattern.  She is a retired CPA who had lots of clothesline around.  She started covering it with fabric.  Ten years later she has taught hundreds of people to create these bags and Hoffman fabrics Bali pops are perfect for those not familiar with batik fabric or how to coordinate the strips.  Each Bali Pop comes with 40, 2 1/2″ strips.  You only need 30 for this project unless you make the bag larger.  Carol does not use a cording foot.  She uses a standard foot for the entire project.  I will domonstrate how I was inspired by this pattern and how I modified it a bit.  I’ll let you know when the DVD is available from HCAT.

 

Leave a Reply

