Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

Fasturn and charity quilts June 15, 2010

Filed under: A Quilter's Touch — inspiredlayerslinda @ 8:05 pm

I just released a DVD of “A Quilter’s Touch” cable access tv show demonstrating the use of Fasturn, a tube turning system.  I used this system to turn a tube which I sewed onto a placemat to donate to Meals on Wheels.  There are so many uses for this tube turning system!  My head was turning as I was taping the show.  There will surely be a part two to using this system.  Stay tuned….

I also showed how I create eye shades for the neonatal unit at UMass Memorial hospital.  These shades are needed in many hospitals to shade babies eyes from the bright lights.

The final charity item I showed was a comfort quilt.  A guild member started this quilt.  I quilted the three layers together and will now pass it on to the next person who will square it up and bind it.  Then it gets a label and a new owner to comfort.  It is so good for our souls to work together on charity projects.

My hope is that this DVD will inspire you to think of a charity in need of your quilting gifts and sew up a storm.  Happy quilting!

 

Leave a Reply

