MQX

I enjoyed MQX in it’s new location, Providence, RI this year.  I attended the Ice Cream Social, a fashion show with Mark L. as emcee, the banquet dinner with speaker Helen Squire, taught two classes on the Ocean View “confetti” quilt, and met many kind and creative quilters.

If you were not able to attend this year, I hope you will mark your calendar for next year and enjoy the large space for quilts, vendors and 30 minute talks by various people in the quilting world.

After nearly a month of rain, the show was a bright light of talent and color.  I was inspired by much of what I saw.  I came home and sketched four new confetti quilts.  I also bought a kit to learn a new coloring technique with colored pencils.  Stay tuned, and I’ll show you how my experiments come out.

I also met Cindy Needham from California.  She transforms napkins, dresser skirts, tablecloths and pillowcases into extraordinary quilted creations.  I’ve chosen some linens from my grandmother to cherish and transform in this manner.  I’ll post my results.

So many ideas and so little time.  I’ve got to take one day at a time allow myself time to create something new.

About inspiredlayerslinda

I have been quilting for more than 18 years. I am an Island Batik Ambassador for 2017. I enjoy the challenge of designing new quilt patterns with this very special batik fabric collection. I joined Toastmasters to find my voice and learn to share my quilts and stories with others.
This entry was posted in quilt shows. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

