Inspired Layers – Linda's Blog

Linda's quilting adventures

Perky Pineapple Quilt January 5, 2010

Filed under: finished project — inspiredlayerslinda @ 1:34 am

This is not your grandmother’s pineapple quilt.  I decided to try this old pattern with bright fabrics from my stash.  It was another exercise in determination.  Once I got started, I couldn’t stop.  I found a fatback fabric for the backing.  I meandered the entire quilt with white thread.  Now that this quilt is done, I need to paint my bedroom and replace the curtains.  The quilt measures 93″x113″.  This may be the largest quilt I have completed in just six weeks.  It was fun, but I’m ready for some more Imagination Quilting.

 

12 Responses to “Perky Pineapple Quilt”

  1. Marilyn Lourandos Says:

    Quilt is beautiful. How did you get it done in 6 weeks? Love the border because it brings out the colors. Made a similar border myself and it really made the quilt pop. The colors you chose are fantistic!

    Marilyn L

  2. Was this a paper piece? Absolutely stunning!

  3. Glenda Allred Says:

    Beautiful quilt! I love your border. I’m a beginner quilter and am in awe of both the pattern and the border!

  4. Allie Says:

    Did you do 12″ or 15″ blocks? Did you do this by paper piecing?

    • Hi,
      It is a 14″ block and I used a square in a square ruler. I did not paper piece it.

      • Allie Says:

        It is a very neat quilt. I am now doing mine in the same fashion as yours but using a dark brown and multiple shades of greens. However, I am doing it through paper piecing and will be doing 15″ blocks. I am very excited to get started!

  5. Good luck! I found it took a lot of patience but the result is worth it. Send me a photo!

  6. Susan lunn Says:

    I have just bought some brights in spring colors and intend to do the same quilt! Your border is great, and I will keep it in mind when it is time. Yep, I tend to create as I go along! The pattern I have for the pineapple square doesn’t seem to call for any special tools, but if you thought the “square in a square” ruler was truly helpful I will consider buying one. I have to finish two other quilts before I even consider starting this one. I have a batik stars on the go now and then a Christmas quilt for my church’s annual raffle. It is so nice to be able to view your creations and share ideas! Thank you.

    • The pineapple quilt can be done so many ways….paper pieced, three dimensional, and with the square in a square ruler too. I would choose the technique you like best. I found it to be very boring even with my bright colors. If you pace yourself, I think you will enjoy the process better too. Best of luck! I’d love to see a photo when you get to finishing this project.


Leave a Reply

